Divisions and Programs

There are three academic divisions, each headed by a division Dean. Divisions are responsible for overseeing programs within their area, including implementing any division specific requirements (e.g. qualifying examinations) and ensuring all program requirements meet the minimum university requirements. Within each division are programs that are headed by a Program Chair reporting to the division. Programs are responsible for teaching and individual program requirements. Requests to waive division or program requirements are reviewed by the relevant division and/or program.

KAUST offers the following full-time degrees:

  • Post Graduate Diploma (PGDip)
  • Master of Science (MS) with thesis
  • Master of Science (MS) non-thesis
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

KAUST's academic divisions offer the following degree programs:

Division of Biological and Environmental Science and Engineering (BESE)

  • Bioengineering (BioE)
  • Bioscience (B)
  • Environmental Science and Engineering (EnSE)
  • Marine Science (MarS)
  • Plant Science (PS)

Division of Computer, Electrical and Mathematical Science and Engineering (CEMSE)

  • Applied Mathematics and Computational Science (AMCS)
  • Computer Science (CS)
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE)
  • Statistics (STAT)

Division of Physical Science and Engineering (PSE)

  • Applied Physics (AP)
  • Chemical Engineering (CE)
  • Chemistry (Chem)
  • Earth Science and Engineering (ErSE)
  • Energy Resources and Petroleum Engineering (ErPE)
  • Material Science and Engineering (MSE)
  • Mechanical Engineering (ME)